The hall and area councils across campus are directly responsible for planning and executing events for their residents. Each hall/area Council is composed of students from their respective communities, and council members are elected by their peers at the beginning of each school year.

On North Campus, there are nine individual residence halls each with their own hall councils, and one area council (BCC) representing three smaller residence halls. On South Campus, there are two area councils, South Hill Area Council (SHAC) and North Hill Area Council (NHAC), each representing over 10 smaller residence halls. Additionally, there are three other on-campus communities with area councils: the Courtyards Apartments, South Campus Commons, and Leonardtown Apartments.

Within each of these hall/area councils are several positions, ranging from council president to floor representative — all of whom represent their residents in one way or another. Council members meet once a week to discuss a variety of topics, often planning their next social event or discussing recent campus initiatives.

Each council also has a select number of Senators who represent their residence halls in the general RHA assembly, known as Senate. If you are looking to get involved in policy-making on both the residence hall and campus levels, then this position is for you! Regardless, if you have ideas you would like to see implemented in your residence hall, or simply want to make new friends, joining your local hall/area council is a great way to get started.

© 2017 Residence Hall Association, University of Maryland
3142 South Campus Dining Hall, College Park, MD 20742